LDBA Hall of Fame (London District Baseball Association)

PrintLDBA Hall of Fame

LDBA Hall of Fame

The following are current members of the LDBA Hall of Fame. We are attempting to update the information on each member. If you have information you would like to submit on an LDBA Hall of Fame member, please e-mail the information to Diane Wakefield at [email protected] with LDBA HALL OF FAME as the subject title.

Jim Wimperis

Clark Brock

Past President 1980-1981

Bob Davis

Past President 1972-1973

Jim Bushby

Reg Huntington

Reg was an EBBA umpire and an important part of the EBBA administration in the early days of youth baseball in London.

Don Swindall

Mary Hohmann

Past President 1989-1997

Fred Russell

Harve Bailie

  • Born in Perth County in 1932; died in London in March, 2007
  • Coached Byron minor baseball teams to 4 OBA championships and 11 league championships
  • An active member of Byron Optimist Club for 38 years and founding member of the Byron Optimist Sports Complex
  • 37th OBA President 1981-1982
  • President of Byron Optimist Minor Baseball and President of the London District Baseball Association (LDBA 1976-1977)
  • As Vice President of Baseball Canada represented Canada at international meetings and at major tournaments in Amsterdam, Milan, Kobe, Seoul, and Havana
  • An official of the Canadian team at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles and the 1988 Olympics in Seoul
  • The Harvey Bailie Diamond is named in his honour at the Byron Sports Complex
  • Inducted posthumously into the London Sports Hall of Fall in 2016 as a Builder Legend

Doug Stinson

Past President 1978-1979

Frank Colman

First president of the Eager Beaver Baseball Association and former major league player with the New York Yankees.

Jim Cressman

Former International and minor professional umpire. Cressman was named International Umpire of the Year in 1990 when he served as an umpire in the World Championships in Edmonton. Jim is still active as an LDBA umpire and course instructor for Baseball Ontario.

Mac Gates

Graeme Nichol

Dan Pulham

Past President 1998-2006

Murray Foubert

Past President 1974-1975

Bob Stark

Bob Bennett

Past President 1982-1983

George "Moonie" Gibson

Pittsburgh Pirates World Series Hero - 1909.

Canada's Baseball Player of the Half Century 1900- 1950

Nick Nicholls

An Eager Beaver Baseball Association past president and coach for over 30 years. Starting in 1955 and continuing into the mid 80s Nicholls was active in baseball in London.

Bob Humphries

Bob started as a coach in the Eager Beaver Baseball Association, and later served as president of EBBA. In 1988 Bob became a member of the Baseball Ontario Board of Directors as the LDBA representative. He then served many years as an elected Director of Baseball Ontario and as the Chairman of the Risk Management Committee. In 2009 he received the Barry Salt Award which goes each year to the Baseballl Ontario director of the year. Bob Humphries passed away on March 24, 2012.

JoAnn Fredin

Long-time secretary of LDBA

Bill Sevier